God is Always Love (Even in the Old Testament)

Julia Vaughan
5 min readFeb 16, 2022

The true character of God is love, mercy, and grace.

Jesus is the Word made flesh. He is the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father except through Him (John 14:6). Jesus came to live among us and show us the true character of God. Through Jesus, we know that God is love, mercy, and grace.

“For God so loved the world, that He gave His only Son, so that everyone who believes in Him will not perish, but have eternal life. For God did not send the Son into the world to judge the world, but so that the world might be saved through Him” (John 3:16–17).

Jesus did not come to judge and condemn, but to make a way for us–lost sons and daughters–to get back home into the arms of our loving Father.

This is why, when I read the Bible today, I read it through the lens of Jesus and the cross. Many say that the Bible contradicts itself, but when I read and interpret through this lens of love, mercy, and grace, I don’t find any contradictions. Instead, I find a beautiful, messy, tragic, and triumphant story about lost people trying to understand God, and their desperate need for a Savior.

Photo by Fadi Xd on Unsplash

The authors of the Bible are not perfect.

In the past, I viewed men like Moses, David, and Paul, as perfect, holy people. Honestly, I think I related…

--

--